Chiquimula is most famous for the Basílica or Esquipulas, one of the most important sites of pilgrimage of the catholic church in the country. Also famous is Ipala Volcano and Lagoon, and impressive volcano with a lagoon located in it’s crater.

The municipalities of Chiquimula are:

  1. Chiquimula
  2. Camotán
  3. Concepción Las Minas
  4. Esquipulas
  5. Ipala
  6. Jocotán
  7. Olopa
  8. Quezaltepeque
  9. San José La Arada
  10. San Juan Ermita
  11. San Jacinto