Visas to Guatemala

You are required to have a passport if you are outside Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras, and Nicaragua. Visa requirements are simple, passports are classified in three groups A, B and C. If you are in “List A” you are lucky, no visa is required for you, “List B” passports require visa, and it should be easy to get in any embassy or consulate, if you have a “List C” passport, you are out of luck, you require a restricted visa. If you are in one of the C countries, and have gotten a visa, let me know how, so I can share it here.

People from CA-4 countries, do not require passports, this is a Central American initiative that let you travel in Central America with only your government issued ID. CA-4 countries include Guatemala, El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua, and travel between these countries for people of this nationalities is really easy. Honduras usually makes it a little harder from what I have heard. This is only for people 18 years or older, as children of these countries do require a valid passport.

Some official and diplomatic passports do not need visa even if they are in Category B or C

Category A Passports

Germany, Andorra, Antigua and Barbuda, Saudi Arabia, Argentina, Australia, Austria,

Bahamas, Bahrain, Barbados, Belgium, Belize, Brasil, Brunei Darussalam, Bulgaria,

Canada, Chile, Taiwan, Cyprus, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia


United Arab Emirates, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, United States of America (includes Guam), Estonia

Fiji, Finland, France (and French territories)


Hungary, Ireland, Island, Marshall Islands, Solomon Islands, Israel, Italy, Japan


Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg,

Macedonia, Madagascar, Malaysia, Malta, Mexico, Monaco

Norway, New Zeland

Panama, Paraguay, Polony


Netherlands (includes Aruba and Netherlands Antilles), Great Britain (includes Hong Kong with British Nationality), Czech Republic, Dominican Republic, Romania, Russian Federation

Saint Kitts and Nevis, San Marino, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Vatican, Saint Thomas and Prince, Singapore, South Africa, Sweeden Switzerland,

Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Tuvalu

Ukraine, Uruguay,


Also passports of OAS (OEA), UN (ONU), European Commission

Category B Passports


Belarus, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cape Verde, Cambodia, Chad, Colombia Comoros, Cote d’Ivoire

Dijbouti, Dominica



Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea Bissau, Equatorial Guinea, Guyana,

India (US, Canada or Schengen Visas can be used)


Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Kiribati,


Malawi, Maldives, Montenegro, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Montenegro, Myanmar,

Namibia, Nauru, Niger

Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru,

Central African Republic, Rwanda,

Senegal, Serbia, Seychelles, Suriname, Swaziland

Thailand, Tanzania, Tajikistan, Togo, Tonga, Tunisia, Turkmenistan,

Uganda, Uzbekistan, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Category C Passports

Afghanistan, Albany, Angola, Algeria, Armenia,

Bangladesh, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Botswana,

Cameron, China, Congo-Brazzaville, Congo-Kinshasa, North Korea, Cuba

Eritrea, Ethiopia, Ghana,


Indonesia, Iraq, Iran,



Laos, Lebanon, Liberia, Libya,

Mali, Mongolia, Mozambique,

Nepal, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Sierra Leona, Syria, Somalia, Sri Lanka, Sudan

East Timor,



other not recognized as a state by Guatemala are Palestine, Sahrawi Arab

and any other Countries not listed above.

For up to date information you should try these sites: